Suite / two rooms / family of five

One suite or two rooms for a family of five?

For parents deciding between a two-bedroom suite and two separate rooms, with children of different ages.

Hotel facts checked: ; page text edited: ; re-check scheduled by November 15, 2026. Details come from the linked hotel pages and change by date. How we check.

No affiliate links on this site yet. If we add them later they will be marked and never decide which room we recommend. Disclosure policy

Short answer

Our default for two adults and three children: a suite with separate bedrooms where one fits; two rooms only with written connecting confirmation. In the table, the published maximum of the one-suite rows runs from 4 (the Westin Junior Suite and 1 Bedroom Suite, below five) to 10 (JW Marriott). Both two-room paths we read (Westin, Hyatt) say connections exist “for some rooms” or are subject to availability, and the pages we read do not say whether a minor may occupy a room alone. Decide who must be behind which door first, then check that the record supports it.

If this is you

You have two adults and three children. A two-bedroom suite looks right on the page, but another option is two ordinary rooms. Your children are different ages and you are not sure the older ones should be in a room alone, or that the younger one can sleep in a suite with a living room next to the parents' door.

What you want: the option that works at night, not just on the booking screen, and a way to confirm it.

What the records say for each path

The rows below use pages on this site. “Not on the page” means the source we read does not state it.

PathExamplePublished maxWhat the record listsStill unknown
One suiteStaybridge Royale Parc 2 Bedroom Suite (1 king, 2 queens)8Two bedrooms with kitchen and living room; Full Kitchen on the card; 2 bathrooms; sofa bed (IHG card, October 16, 2026)Room size; rollaway and crib lines
One suiteJW Marriott 2 Bedroom Suite (SU2B0030)10Bedroom 1: 1 king; Bedroom 2: 2 queens; 2 sofa beds; 2.5 bathrooms; separate living room; “Connecting rooms are not available” (Marriott card, October 16, 2026)Bedroom doors: not stated
One suiteClementine 2-Bedroom Suite8Two separate bedrooms (1 queen, then 2 queens); two separate bathrooms; separate living room; stairs-only property (hotel page, October 16, 2026)Crib policy (rollaways are listed as unavailable)
One suiteHoliday Inn Club Vacations Orange Lake: 2 Bedroom Villa8“Two-bedroom, two-bath villa featuring a king bed, two queens, and a sleeper sofa”; full kitchen, separate dining and living areas (resort page, October 16, 2026)Rollaway and crib lines
One suite, one bedroomWestin Times Square Junior Suite and 1 Bedroom Suite4 each1 King plus a sofa bed in each (Marriott room dialogs, October 16, 2026); below five, so they do not fit the family aloneBathroom count (not on the dialogs)
One suiteThe Bayard Family Two-Bedroom Apartment6King bedroom, a second bedroom with two twin beds, living area with queen pull-out sofa (hotel page and booking-engine room list, read October 16-17, 2026); “Fits up to 6 guests”Bathroom count (the page says “the bathroom” offers “both a soaking tub and shower”, no number); rollaway, crib and connecting (not on the pages)
One suiteOakbrook Terrace 2 Bedroom Suites5 (1 King 1 Queen) or 7 (1 Queen 2 Double)“2 Bedroom with Living, Dining and Kitchen areas”; Full Kitchen on every card; single sofa bed (IHG room cards, Nov 10-11, 2026 search, read October 16, 2026)Bathroom count (not on the cards)
Two roomsWestin Times Square, two rooms3 or 4 per room, by typeAll 11 types read say “Connecting rooms are available (for some rooms)”; which rooms pair is not stated; the overview says “Guaranteed Connecting Rooms” (October 16, 2026)Which pairs qualify; bathroom count (not on the dialogs)
Two roomsHyatt Regency Times Square, King + Double QueenSix combined, per the hotel“Subject to availability”; “limited number”; the hotel “cannot guarantee connecting rooms without advance notice” (FAQ, October 16, 2026)Which dates; confirmation wording
Two roomsIHG hotels on this site (Staybridge, Candlewood, Holiday Inn Express, Holiday Inn Club Vacations)Per roomConnecting rooms are not on the page we read for these hotelsEverything: ask the hotel

How to choose: three tests

  1. Who must be behind which door? If parents need a door that closes between them and the children, a suite with separate bedrooms (Royale Parc, JW Marriott, Clementine list them) gives that on paper; the Westin suites read are one-bedroom and max 4. Two rooms give it only if you are placed in the rooms you asked for.
  2. Can the plan be confirmed in writing? A suite's name, maximum and bedrooms are on the record. A connecting pair is a request unless the hotel writes otherwise (see connecting rooms: guaranteed or requested).
  3. Does every person have a named bed? In a suite, count the beds listed. In two rooms, count them for each room and for the combination; the Westin's King rooms are max 3 and its two-bed rooms max 4, so a split of five means each room's own limit must hold (the Westin pages do not state a combined figure).

These tests are our decision steps, not hotel rules.

The second-room question: a child in the other room

The pages we read do not say whether a minor may occupy a room without an adult (we searched them for unaccompanied, minor, under 18, alone and without an adult). The IHG pages list only a minimum check-in age for whoever registers the room, on the IHG pages: 18 or 21 depending on the hotel, blank at Staybridge Carlsbad and Staybridge Orlando Universal Blvd. The Marriott, Hyatt, Westin, Rosen Inn, Clementine and Bayard pages we read have no check-in age line. That is about who may check in, not who may sleep, so ask the hotel in writing and do not plan for a child to stay alone unless it confirms. The ages are summarised in the booking confirmation checklist.

Bathrooms and kitchens

A suite does not automatically mean two bathrooms. IHG's cards for the Staybridge suites we read do not state a bathroom count, except Royale Parc, whose 2 Bedroom Suite card lists 2 bathrooms. Some cards name the bath type (Anaheim, Clermont and Largo, for example a walk-in shower or a bath-shower combination); Glenview's card has only a photo caption, “Standard Guest Bathroom”, and says the bathroom count is not on the page; and Greenbelt's two-bedroom caption says “separate bedrooms and bathrooms”, but none gives a number. Clementine's page says two separate bathrooms; JW Marriott's card lists 2.5; the Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orange Lake 2 Bedroom Villa is described as “two-bath”; the Bayard's Family Two-Bedroom page says “the bathroom” with no count, while its Two-Bedroom Penthouse lists a full bathroom plus a half bath. For two rooms, the Westin dialogs we read do not state the number of bathrooms. See how to check bathroom counts for five and full kitchen or microwave and fridge.

Ask the hotel before you pay

Fill in the [brackets]. Send it to the hotel, not a booking site.

Email

Subject: Suite or two rooms for 5 on [dates]

Hi,

We are 2 adults and 3 children (ages [__], [__], [__]) and are choosing between the [suite name] and two rooms ([room names]) on [dates]. Could you confirm:

1. For the suite: how many bathrooms does it have (the pages do not state it: [___])? Please also confirm where each of us would sleep.
2. For two rooms: can you guarantee that they connect (not only request it), and can you note it on the reservation?
3. May a child aged [__] stay in the second room while the adults are in the other?
4. What is the cancellation policy for each option, and what is the total with taxes and fees?

Could you reply by email so I have it in writing?

Thanks,
[your name]

Where each fact came from

  • Suites: IHG room cards for Royale Parc (read October 16, 2026), Marriott room cards on the JW Marriott rooms page (October 16, 2026), the Orange Lake resort page (October 16, 2026) and the Clementine suites page (October 16, 2026).
  • Two rooms: the Westin rooms page and the Hyatt Regency Times Square FAQ (October 16, 2026); the connecting-rooms guide on this site repeats them with dates.
  • Oakbrook Terrace: IHG select-room cards for Staybridge Oakbrook Terrace, Nov 10-11, 2026 search, 2 adults and 3 children, read October 16, 2026.
  • The Bayard: the hotel's booking-engine Summary and Details steps for the One-Bedroom Queen Apartment sample (Nov 10-11, 2026), read October 17, 2026 ET, plus the hotel page.
  • Westin suites: the Junior Suite and 1 Bedroom Suite room dialogs on the Westin rooms page, read October 16, 2026.
  • Minimum check-in age: IHG hotel pages, read October 16, 2026; Orange Lake's directions page, read October 17, 2026.

Availability and rates are not shown here and change by date.

Quick answers

Is a connecting room the same as a two-bedroom suite?

No. A two-bedroom suite is one booked room with bedrooms inside it, listed with a published maximum (8 at Royale Parc, 10 at the JW Marriott). Connecting rooms are two rooms with an internal door; the hotel pages we read treat the connection as available “for some rooms” or subject to availability, so in our reading a suite's name, maximum and bedrooms are easier to confirm than a pair.

Can my child stay in a second room alone?

The pages we read do not say (see the second-room section). Minimum check-in ages (18 or 21 where stated) are a different question. Ask the hotel in writing.

Does a suite always have two bathrooms?

No. IHG's room cards for most Staybridge suites on this site do not list the number of bathrooms. Royale Parc's 2 Bedroom Suite card lists 2, Clementine's page says two, the Orange Lake 2 Bedroom Villa is described as two-bath, and the JW Marriott card lists 2.5.