Where IHG shows occupancy
- The hotel overview page (
/hoteldetail) lists suites as image carousels with alt text and shows no occupancy. - Older
/hoteldetail/roomsand/hotel-room-ratesaddresses redirected to the overview page when we checked on October 15, 2026. - Occupancy appears on the "Select your room" page, after you enter dates and guests. Each room card has an icon labelled "Max occupancy N", and the Room Details dialog lists Beds, Room Classification and Room Layout.
It is valid for one searched night
The room selection page lists only room types available for the dates you enter. Our checks used check-in November 10, 2026, check-out November 11, 2026, one room and one adult. A different date can show different room types, so a type missing from a page here is not proof the hotel lacks it.
What the page often does not say
- Bathrooms: not stated in the Room Details fields for any room we checked unless a marketing description quoted a number.
- Who sleeps where: beds are listed, guests are not assigned to them.
- Fees: the room card does not state extra-person or rollaway charges.
When IHG's own text disagrees with itself
On the pages below, one part of IHG's room page differs from another. We show both and do not pick one.
| Hotel | Room | What differs |
|---|---|---|
| Holiday Inn Club Vacations Williamsburg Resort | 2 Bedroom Villa | Room card: max occupancy 6. IHG description: 'Sleeps up to 8'. |
| Holiday Inn Club Vacations South Beach Resort | 3 Bedroom Signature Villa | Room card: max occupancy 8. IHG description: 'Sleeps up to 6'. |
| Staybridge Anaheim At The Park | 2 Queen 1 Bedroom Suite Sofa Bed | Listed as Full Kitchen. Room details list a microwave only. |
| Staybridge Washington DC East Largo | 1 King 2 Queen Beds 2 Bedroom Suite | Listed as Full Kitchen. Room details list only a refrigerator. |
| Staybridge Carlsbad - San Diego | 2 Bedroom Suite | Listed as Full Kitchen. Room details list no appliances. |
How to use the number
- Read the number on the exact room name you will book.
- Compare it with your party size, counting every child.
- List the beds shown and check each guest has a place.
- If a description or tag disagrees, ask the hotel in writing before you pay. Each hotel page has a script.
Quick answers
Where does IHG show 'Max occupancy'?
On each room card of the Select your room page, for the dates you searched.
Is 'Max occupancy' a sleeping plan?
No. It is the limit for that room type on the searched night. It does not say who sleeps where, and it does not state bathrooms or fees.
What if IHG's description disagrees with the room card?
Both numbers are shown on the hotel page. The Williamsburg 2 Bedroom Villa card says 6 while the description says 'up to 8'; the South Beach Myrtle Beach 3 Bedroom Signature Villa card says 8 while the description says 'up to 6'.